Request offers
Find accommodations in South Tyrol
  1. Themes
  2. Nature
  3. Natural attractions
  4. UNESCO World Natural Heritage Dolomites

UNESCO World Natural Heritage Dolomites

Mountains like Drei Zinnen, Schlern, Seiser Alm and Rosengarten or the peaks of Geisler, nature parks like Fanes-Sennes-Prags, the canyon of Bletterbach…

Famous names, well-known among passionate mountaineers and nature lovers. The Dolomites are unique and varied as regards their appearance and their geology. And they are a dreamlike scenery for hiking and biking, as well as the habitat of many wild animals and rare plant species.

In 2009, the UNESCO declared the Dolomites a UNESCO World Natural Heritage site, together with some other mountain ranges. The reason of the committee: Their unique and monumental beauty.

South Tyrolean natural jewels

The following areas in South Tyrol are part of the World Natural Heritage site:

 Other areas pertaining to World Natural Heritage in the regions Veneto and Friuli and in the province Trento:

  • the region around the mountains Pelmo and Croda da Lago in Veneto between Cadore, Zoldano and Ampezzo,
  • the mountain group Marmolada with the highest peak of the Dolomites (3,343 m) and the largest glacier, 
  • the mountains Pale di San Martino, Pale di San Lucano and the Belluno Dolomites,
  • the Dolomites in the provinces Pordenone and Udine,
  • and the northern Dolomites between South Tyrol and Veneto with the Ampezzo Dolomites.

The fact that the Dolomites are part of World Natural Heritage guarantees on one hand worldwide famousness and appreciation. On the other hand, this honourable title includes also the duty to protect nature and landscape, to care for it and to preserve it for ensuing ages.

Recommended accommodation: