Find accommodation & make a request
from 96 €
Falkensteiner Hotel & Spa Sonnenparadies
Wellness hotel | Terenten at Mt. Kronplatz
from 90 €
Hotel Saltauserhof
Wellness hotel | St. Martin in Passeier
from 200 €
Quellenhof Luxury Resort Passeier
Sport & wellness resort | St. Martin in Passeiertal
from 131 €
SONNENHOF Sun/Spa/Panorama
Sporthotel | Pfalzen at Mt. Kronplatz
from 190 €
WINKLER Sport & Spa Resort
Design hotel | St. Lorenzen at Mt. Kronplatz
from 142 €
LANERHOF Active/Spa/Balance
Spa-Hotel | St. Lorenzen at Mt. Kronplatz
from 110 €
Hotel Fameli
Family & spa resort | Olang at Mt. Kronplatz
from 67 €
Ruster Resort
Place for relaxing | Algund in Meran and environs
from 155 €
Luxury . Ayurveda & SPA | Olang at Mt. Kronplatz
from 110 €
Grand Hotel Bellevue
City hotel | Meran
from 289 €
Wellness Refugium Alpin Royal
Charm & warmth | St. Johann in Tauferer Ahrntal

Emperors, bishops & counts

Over 800 castles and ruins are witnesses of the strategic importance of South Tyrol. In the Middle Ages, not only secular sovereigns fought for the domination of the Tyrolean area. Several bishops set themselves as the founders of a monastery: For instance, Bishop Hartmann founded the Augustinian monastery of Neustift. Others preferred to expand their secular power.

The Christianisation of the Central Alps had begun in the 4th century in the Late Roman period. Trento and Säben had become important dioceses. On Mt. Säben, there are excavations of early Christian churches of the 6th century and St. Prokulus church in Naturns was built in the 7th century. In 769, the monastery of Innichen was founded by the Bavarian duke Tassilo as the oldest monastery in the Tyrolean area. The collegiate church of the 13th century is one of the most important Romanic sacred buildings of the Eastern Alps.

The bishops’ secular power is growing

In 898, there are the first incursions by the Hungarians which is the beginning of the Medieval fortifications. Due to the lack of a strong political power, the bishops of Trento and Säben increasingly assumed secular duties. In 955, Otto I won over the Hungarians in the Battle of Lechfeld. He united the eastern Frankish Empire (which also included the Bavarian duchy) with the Kingdom of Italy and became the emperor of the Holy Roman Empire.

The control of the Alpine passes became a central power factor for the Ottonic-Salian emperors. Therefore, they transferred county rights to the bishops of Trento and Brixen in the 11th century (in the second half of the 10th century the bishop see was transferred from Säben to Brixen). The counties of Trento, Bozen and Vinschgau were transferred to the bishop of Trento, the bishop of Brixen first got the County of Norital (the area between Klausen and Inntal) and later also the County of Pustertal.

The rise of the Counts of Tyrol

The Counts of Tyrol were first bailiffs of the bishops. However, they expanded their power to the detriment of the bishops starting from Tyrol Castle near Meran in the 12th century. Gradually, the valleys south and north of Brenner pass assumed the name Tyrol. From the late 12th century, cities were founded along the important transregional roads. Around 1300, the County of Tyrol had already been a quite homogenous territory.

In 1363, the County of Tyrol of Margarete Maultasch passed over to the Habsburgians who reigned Tyrol almost continuously until 1918, significantly influencing culture, architecture and cuisine.

The Tyrolean Rebellion

After the defeat against France, Austria had to cede Tyrol to Bavaria in 1805, that went to war as ally of Napoleon against Austria. Tyrol became part of the newly founded Kingdom of Bavaria. Among other things, the enormous tax burden as well as the interference in religious matters created discontent. A forced recruitment for the Bavarian army was the reason for the Tyrolean Rebellion in 1809 under the leadership of Andreas Hofer, who was violently killed.

Afterwards, Bozen and the area south of it were annexed to the former Kingdom of Italy together with Trentino in 1810, which persisted for nine years with Napoleon as king. In 1813, these areas were again occupied by the Austrian troops and Tyrol was annexed to the Habsburgian Monarchy again in 1815 after the Congress of Vienna.

Current holiday offers

from 100 €
Hotel Tirolerhof

Welcome to the Tirolerhof at the gateway to the Gsieser Valley. Your perfect place for active holidays and pure relaxation!

To the hotel
from 141 €
Vitalpina Hotel Schulerhof

A dream holiday - for active guests who enjoy relaxation, culinary delights, and friendly interactions.

To the hotel
from 122 €
Hotel & SPA RESORT Majestic

TOP hotel ****s in Pustertal - large garden with swimming pool, natural bathing pond, saunas, guided hikes and much more!

To the hotel
from 230 €
Alpenpalace Spa Retreat

Experience summer in its most beautiful form in sunny Ahrntal - your exclusive hideaway for pure relaxation and glorious sunny days.

To the hotel


Selected accommodations in South Tyrol

Obstbauernhof Fohlenhof - Laas in Vinschgau

Obstbauernhof Fohlenhof

Laas in Vinschgau
4.8 Excellent

Many advantages for our guests: personal service, exclusive accommodation, each apartment with balcony, covered car parking, spacious garden and terrace, central position.

from 90 € per day
Hotel Bamboo - Latsch in Vinschgau

Hotel Bamboo

Latsch in Vinschgau
4.4 Very good

Unique combination of beach and mountains, glasshouse with nature pool, sauna and whirlpool, typical South Tyrolean dishes and exotic delicacies, guided tours – ideal hotel for active travellers.

from 101 € per day
Garni Hotel Farmerhof - Partschins-Rabland in Meran and environs

Garni Hotel Farmerhof

Partschins-Rabland in Meran and environs
4.7 Excellent

Newly renovated rooms with large balcony in a sunny location close to the village centre, garden & breakfast in the winter garden, ideal for hiking & biking tours.

from 63 € per day
Garni Ganthaler - Algund in Meran and environs

Garni Ganthaler

Algund in Meran and environs
4.7 Excellent

In a sunny position in the middle of fruit orchards, with dreamlike panoramic view over Meran. Comfortable rooms, garden with pool & Südtirol GuestPass Algund.

from 62 € per day